Tags

, ,

You may not be aware but I’m brazilian.

And here in Brazil cachaça is considered an alcoholics/low-quality spirit.

For that reason there are some great cachaça promotion events like Expocachaça, and they promote Cachaça Cocktail Competitions.

And there I went for my first competition. Inspired by the vermuth-golden-ratio and trying to be simple, I went with this recipe:

  • 50ml Cachaça (oak aged)
  • 25ml Vermuth Bianco
  • 5ml Garapa (fresh juice of raw sugar cane)

Garnished with a vanilla stick.

cachaça's baron and baroness

cachaça’s baron and baroness

I was trying to bring into the spotlight the vanilla flavoring from the oak and also the freshness of the cachaça.

So in the end I was very happy with my concoction, but find out it was a little sweet and for that reason I was advised to play with a mix  of Dry/Sweet vermuth and also try orange bitter and citrus zest.

Since then I’ve been looking for some recipes that has this characteristic and since we don’t have orange bitters around here maybe a campari/aperol substitution.

Here’s what I found:

  • Caneflower (Jeffrey Morghentaller)

1½ oz Boca Loca cachaça
¾ oz   Aperol
½ oz   St. Germain elderflower liqueur
lemon twist

  • Rosita(Terry Sullivan)

1½ oz  silver tequila
1/2 oz sweet vermouth
1/2 oz dry vermouth
1/2 oz Campari
dash of Angostura Bitters
lemon twist

Both share the herbal+citrus line besides differing in proportions and bitter.

I’ll be trying those when I get my hands in some vermuth bottles.