Tags

, , ,

I bought a Prosecco bottle to give a try in the Old Cuban Cocktail, but there wasn’t any mint when I arrived at my friend’s house, then we just drank it and I made an Aperol Spritz with it:

Aperol Spritz

  • 3oz Prosecco
  • 2oz Aperol
  • 1splash Club Soda

It is refreshing and have a slight bitter taste in the end, just the right amount to make you want to sip it again.

The soda really makes a difference.

Besides that I think Prosecco is better at its own, when compared to the Aperol Spritz.

I tried my Cachaça golden ratio cocktail again, now with

  • 1.5 oz    Cachaça
  • 0.75oz Vermuth Bianco
  • 0.25oz Aperol

Lime twist.

The bitterness of Aperol was there and I didn’t want it. Although it was a nice cocktail still being on the sweet side, becausse I didn’t changed the vermuth to a dry one.

I guess a dry curacao will be a great substitution for the Aperol, adding its own bitterness.

Just found this recipe (09/30):

Machado Cocktail

  • 1.5 oz aged rum
  • .75 oz dry vermouth
  • .25 oz orange liqueur
  • .5 tsp grenadine
  • 2 dashes bitters

Stir with ice, serve on the rocks with a twist of lemon.

Here is a pic:

I also had a Corn’Oil, with my home made Falernum.

I just infused Allspice, cloves, ginger and lime zest in aged Rum, but no almonds, and then added a rich simple syrup in it. It tasted good, adding a nice spicy to the rum and I think is a nice sipper.