Tags

cute child bottle

My first favorite drink was the Black Russian, sometimes a White Russian.

The usual coffee liqueur here is from a brand of liqueurs that I’m sure are artificial, and for the old times sake I tried to make my own Coffee Liqueur.

This one will debut on a housewarming party. The recipe is based on SeriouEat.

Step 1:

Infuse toasted coffee beans(50g) in water for 12hours. This will keep the tannins away. Keep it in the fridge.

This will smell great already.

Step 2:

Strain the water and keep it. Infuse coffee beans with rum, I used black rum and vodka, one cup of each. Let it sit for 3 days in the fridge.

Step 3:
Use the coffee-water to do a rich syrup. Strain the alcohool, strain remaining solids and mix with the syrup. Bottle.

The final product was a rich aroma, tasted like aged rum, but with a nice coffee kick and a long aftertaste.

I think a more bodied rum would be better (mine was only 38%). Also I strained the alcohol into the water without making the syrup.
I screwed up a little, but it was very good and way cheaper than our national brand.

I used a cheap coffee bean also, because it was the only I could buy 50g, but a nice expresso coffee bean would be better, I guess.

NEGRITA

  • 2.5 oz Aged Rum
  • 0.5 oz Coffee Liqueur
  • 0.75oz lime juice

Shake, strain into ice chilled cocktail glass.

Another nice combo is coffee and pineapple.