Tags

, ,

Singani Sour

I’m really busy this week so I didn’t had time to write up anything, also I could find myself a time to experiment with cocktails.

My next experiment will be:

Report the effects of  salt, egg white and maltodextrin at a sour cocktail.

So, this will be how I’ll do it:

  • Three daiquiris, one with egg white, one with maltodextrin, one traditional(rich simple syrup).

Which one is better? What are the pros and cons of each method?

  • Now, two more, one with salt, one without.

Which one is better? What are the pros and cons of each method?

  • The winner takes it all:  Blend both methods above.  Is it f-ing delicious?

If you don’t know maltodextrin is a complex sugar that easily dissolves in water.

Bodybuilders use it as a rapid energy font.

Good things that maltodextrin add to cocktails:

  • Help in stabilize foam of cocktails.  (egg white’s friend);
  • Adds mouth feel, smoothing the cocktail by thickening in liquid.

You can read more about it in here: http://www.artofdrink.com/2006/01/unique-ingredients-maltodextrin.php

By monday I’ll be posting my results.

Meanwhile, see this beautifully garnished Morlacco Julep. Right in this month’s MxMo theme.