Tags

,

This post is from my friend João Morandi. 

Today I decided to star writing about mixology. For many months I’ve being thinking about it, friends of mine already have started but after researching the internet and reading blogs and web sites of very talented and renowned mixologists I still had different experiences to share and subjects to approach in my very own way.

Since here in Brasil our access too many liquors that already exists in the entire world (please, producers, bring your special products…we deserve to drink good stuff too), I decided to season my very own rum. It’s the second “my very own”, but it’s on purpose. It means that I created the flavor profile by using Mediterranean spices, which are one of my favorite cousines in the world. In order to reach best flavor I used Bacardi Black Rum for its full-bodied and a blend of tropical fruits. These pre-existent flavors harmonized well with the spices I decided to use. And here they are:

Jhonny’s Spiced Rum

  • 3 tbsp Smoked Paprika (the good stuff)
  • 3 tbsp Spicy Paprika
  • 3 tbsp Zaatar
  • 3 tbsp Cinnamon
  • 5 Cloves
  • 3 tbsp Sugar
  • 3 tbsp Syrian pepper

As I started with only 300ml (something around 10oz.), I still have to adjust the amount spice to a full 1 Liter Bottle. But something around 3 tbl spoons of each one (except the cloves. You put 5 or 6 cloves per Liter only) will give you a nice spice and kick in your rum.

After 24h waiting and infusing you can filter twice in coffee filter previous boiled 2 sec in pure water (so it wont give a paper taste to your Rum).

Taí (And there you have it, in portuguese slang). Ready to be sipped with coke or ginger ale (for the laziest ones).
You can also create great cocktails with it.
Chin Chin.