For some reason I reached this post on Ohgo.sh.

And besides having a nice review about a garapeira aged cachaça, which I didn’t knew existed, there’s also this part that really caught my eye:

the idea that gin and rum can often be exchanged with good results.

I found also reference to this trick in Jeffrey’s blog.

The first cocktail that came into my mind was the Bramble, where the gin would be exchanged for Cachaça.

Also the liqueur would be swapped for a Brazilian berry, the jabuticaba.

Then I remembered the Cachaça tônica.

And by the same time I was reading this, I had my eyes on those two recipes:

Jabberwocky

  • 1,5oz Tanqueray gin
  • 1oz Drambuie
  • 0,5oz  fresh lemon juice
  •  0,5oz fresh lime juice

Shaked, strained into an ice-filled highball glass; top with club soda.

Gansevoort Fizz

  • 2oz medium-bodied rum 
  • 1oz fresh lemon juice
  • 1oz Drambuie
  • 2 dashes Peychaud’s bitters

Shaked, strain into a chilled glass; top with 2oz chilled soda water. 

And also this other recipe,

Saturn

  • 1 1/4 oz Gin
  • 1/2 oz Lemon Juice
  • 1/2 oz Passion Fruit Syrup
  • 1/4 oz Orgeat
  • 1/4 oz Falernum

Which looks like a Mai Tai for its spiceness and fruity taste.

I’ll tinker around this and let you know what I found.

I would like to thank all you people that visited me during this first month.